Is Deceased vs. Is Deleted
When building your constituent file, you may choose to include the 'Is Deleted' or 'Is Deceased' fields - but what are they and why are they important? Let's take a look!
'Is Deleted' is a field you can add into your file to explicitly remove constituents from EverTrue. The primary reason we see this column used is to remove deceased constituents. While some institutions bring over deceased individuals, others prefer to remove them - both options work for EverTrue and it is entirely up to you and your institution. Another reason the 'Is Deleted' column may be relevant to your institution is if you are implementing a database clean up and you want to delete those unwanted records from EverTrue. The 'Is Deleted' field works with both a standard and full import.
'Is Deceased' is another field you can add into your file to help show who of your constituents has passed if you choose to include those constituents in EverTrue. Deceased constituents will be marked as such - this applies to both the Alumni Community application and EverTrue's Advancement platform.