Management: Community User Privacy & Hidden Data
In this Article
- Types of Privacy Settings
- Suppressions and Admins
- IsShared Fields
- Console Suppressions vs. Import Suppressions
- Hiding Address Details
- Using Community and EverTrue, Privacy Settings
Types of Privacy/Suppression Settings
In EverTrue's Community app, users can suggest which information they would like to share. You can apply these preferences to your Community via an import or by editing the user's record in Console.
When you import your data, you can specify which information to share about a user using what EverTrue calls "IsShared" fields. All fields of a particular set of information (address, education, work history, phone, email) can be suppressed in this way. However, it is currently not possible to just suppress a single field (zip code, for example).
Additionally, a constituent's entire profile can be hidden. This can be done in one of three ways:
- The user can hide their own profile using the "Hide My Information" toggle under Settings after logging into your Community
- Directly in Console by an Admin on that constituent's profile
- During an import using the PersonIsShared field
This change will hide all of the user's biographical information (address, phone, email, education, work, etc.) and will make him or her unsearchable in the directory, removing any map pins associated with their profile.
Note that a constituent whose profile is completely hidden can still become a user of the app. However, their profile will not be visible to other users.
Suppressions and Admins
Any and all suppressions will be marked in Console and in the app. Suppressed data will still be visible in the app to a user viewing his/her own profile. Additionally, any users who manages the community (called Admins) will be able to see suppressed data. Those suppressions will be marked as follows in the app.
- Profile suppressions will be marked with a red status bar located at the top of the profile.
- Suppressed information will be grayed out and labeled with a "not visible" symbol.
IsShared columns are used for record level suppressions, i.e. based on individual constituents. These can be included in your CSV file and will be shown in Console as a confirmation that they were successfully imported for that constituent. Once imported, any IsShared suppressions will take effect in your Community.
When importing, IsShared columns default to Y, meaning shared, if no value is given. Populating an IsShared field with the value of N will suppress the associated information for that constituent's record.
The only exception to this rule, where we default to Y if blank, is when the field has been previously imported as N and remains that way. To make the adjustment from an imported suppression (IsShared = N) to un-suppressing the data, you'll need to explicitly indicate IsShared = Y (un-suppress/show data). A blank value will not un-suppress the data. This is to help ensure your data suppressions remain in take until explicitly changed. So until an import specifically tells us to un-suppress a value, we will respect your previous suppression. Reach out to email@example.com if you have further questions in this regard.
Our IsShared fields can be found in our Alumni Community Fields Guide here.
Console Suppressions vs. Import Suppressions
Suppressions made in Console can not be unsuppressed by data imports. Additionally, suppressions made through an import can not be unsuppressed in Console.
Note that suppressions will only holds true if the data remains identical. E.g. if an address is changed for any reason, the suppression will no longer hold as it is recognized as an entirely new address with no noted suppressions.
- If a constituent's address was previously imported and suppressed in Console, a subsequent import of that same exactly address will not cause it to become visible, even if the import contains Address1IsShared = Y. In this case it is very important that the address remain identical for us to retain that suppression in Console.
- If a constituent's address (123 Oak St.) was previously imported and suppressed in Console, a subsequent import including only a new address (432 1st Ave) will result in 123 Oak St. being removed, and 432 1st Ave being added as visible. This is because the address is recognized as a new piece of information with no known privacy settings. The previous privacy settings were specific to the 123 Oak St. address.
This same logic holds for emails, phone numbers, and other data.
Hiding Address Details
We can configure your community to show only the city, state, and zip code on constituent profiles. This type of suppression is done by our engineering team and would apply to your entire constituent base within your Community. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you would like this feature enabled.
Using Community and EverTrue, Privacy Settings
IsShared privacy preferences only affect the visibility of information in the Community application, where Alumni users would be viewing the data. If your institution also uses EverTrue's Advancement platform, within that specific application all data will be available to your staff users. Visibility preferences are not marked in EverTrue. I.e. in EverTrue your users will not see the same red or gray indicators representing privacy as you would in Community. All imported data is visible by default in EverTrue.
When users with higher-level permissions (e.g. Admins) access the Community application, they will see data and records based on their permission level. This not only applies to the data they can see on a single record (like hidden addresses or phones), but also the scope of records. This means that if an EverTrue Admin is viewing their Community app, they may see more than just Alumni records. This is because the user has permissions to see a greater set of records. However, as long as your roles in your data file are setup correctly, Alumni will not see those records they are not given permission to see.
Additionally, Alumni cannot access the Advancement platform and, therefore will never be able to see data marked as private/hidden.